Welcome to Flyin' Miata!

Flyin' Miata sway bar set (ND chassis)

Why do you need sway bars? This is why you need sway bars.
Flyin' Miata sway bar set (ND chassis)
$229.00
Rating
15 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

OR

Customer Reviews 10 item(s)

1-10 of 15

Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
Game changer for handling
I’m going to join the throng of other reviewers by stating that this sway bar set (I also purchased FM’s end links) transforms the ND Miata’s handling from go kart —> 911. I have a 2016 Club Miata and really noticed how squirrelly the handling can. Body roll turning in, and while making quick transitions left me feeling almost a little unsafe as though I couldn’t quite trust where the limit of the Miata is. After having my local auto shop charge me an arm and a leg to install these (evidently the front sway bar install is a real pain in the ***), I immediately noticed how much more PLANTED the car becomes. “Point and shoot” weapon vs. Soviet RPG is now an accurate description of the Miata’s handling. Whether I’m going 10 mph or 80 mph, the car doesn’t roll or sway and I feel very confident turning in, throwing it around. My Mazda didn’t design the car this way in the first place is a mystery to me, but these are very much worth it and will put a capital Z in Zoom Zoom. Just get em!
-David
Rating
Review by Maynard / (Posted on 10/31/2019)
DO THIS FIRST!!!
Excellent inexpensive improvement.
Instructions were mostly straightforward and it was a pain in the a$$ to change the front. Take your time and swill a beer or two, you'll need it.
Fortunately my friend has a HF lift, I'd hate to try replacing the front on jack stands.
Rating
Review by Planetjem / (Posted on 10/15/2019)
Tough Installation
Remove the airbox during installation! That's not optional! Battery tray *might* be optional, but just remove it. You'll save hours in total. Also I couldn't get the new bar over the steering rack, so I unbolted the rack to nudge it just a bit. Otherwise everything else in the instructions worked for me. Angled pliers helped me a bunch with removing the clips. Note: you might break a few.

Rear bar install is easy. I didn't even take the wheels off.

Settings: Front full stiff, driver rear neutral, passenger rear full soft. Anything stiffer in the rear and turn-in is darty with significant lift-off oversteer midcorner. Be warned.

Overall this is the best single upgrade possible to the suspension. My car flattened out in the twisties and I took 3s off my lap! This gets much more tire to the ground for more grip. Ultimately I would have preferred to pay more for a front bar with easier install. Now that it's in though, I'm very happy.

Note from FM: We'd love to make the install easier, but unfortunately it's all down to Mazda's design of the ND.
Rating
Review by realkiran / (Posted on 10/11/2019)
You won't be disappointed
If you want to switch up from the cute tossable little Miata, to the point and shoot weapon of choice, this is THE must have upgrade.
Follow the instructions, which are well put together. The front will be tedious for most, and I reccomend acquiring a long reach trim tool for the electrical connector mounts to the radiator support. But, it's not as intimidating as it may seem initially.
The end result is a car that stays flat, even with acceleration and braking. It truly does transform the vehicle.
The only concern I have, which time will reveal, is the quality of the bushings, and the finish of the bar. I anticipate a need for future service in that regard. As well, you will lose some of that feel as per the geometry of the rear suspension under extreme load.
Others mentioned better ride quality, however, it is the same, which is a GOOD thing.

All in all, if you want a truly serious improvement to handling, this is the one.
Rating
Review by TSA / (Posted on 10/3/2019)
Highly recommend. Get a set.. you will not regret it.
Great price, quick shipping and the result is impressive. Take your time and follow the instructions carefully. That front bar install is a pita but so worth it. Tech tip, cut out a 21.5"x17" section of the shipping box and used it to protect the radiator. Worked perfectly and my radiator is still looking fresh. I had fm springs on the car already with fm alignment spec and these compliment them perfectly. No more miata common nervous twitchy turn in .. its direct and precise now without any strange secondary movement after steering input. Point n shoot.. it just does what you ask it. I set the bars up full stiff in front and full soft out back. No understeer noticed on the street and spirited windy back roads.
Rating
Review by Shawn / (Posted on 9/29/2019)
Could Not Believe The Difference, Before and After
FM has it right when they say "If you're only going to do one thing to your ND, this is what it should be." I could not believe the difference in both ride quality and cornering after I put these bars on my 2019 RF GTS.

I also took Eric's advice and added some new rubber and a performance-oriented alignment, and now I just grin ear-to-ear in every corner.

Read more at my blog - https://lifebeyondpolitics.blog/2019/03/22/my-mx-5-mod-7/
Rating
Review by Tom Dougherty / (Posted on 3/29/2019)
Great Kit At An Unmatched Price
I recently upgraded my daily driver from a lightly modified NA to a stock ND. Even though I knew body roll and pitching under acceleration/braking were an issue beforehand, I was still shocked at the amount of movement there was.
This kit solves that almost completely. The car is so much smoother and more neutral than before. Even on the factory tires, it can out-grip the NA on wider BFGs.

As far as I can tell, there's no better sways out there that even come close to this price. FM really did a great job with this kit.

As stated before, the front bar is a lot of trouble to change, but FM's instructions are spot-on. Take your time and try not to get too frustrated.
Rating
Review by Gabe / (Posted on 2/25/2019)
Rough install but amazing modification
Neither the front nor the rear brackets fit in the bolt holes. They had to be filed down like crazy to get them on which was super annoying. Other than that, the rear install was extremely easy. The front, however, was a nightmare! I removed the air box and battery box as many others did (not in the instructions). I don't see how any person could get their hands in there to disconnect the pesky connectors everywhere without this step! I would say about half of my total install time was trying not to break something on the radiator/fan shroud.

Note from FM: We can thank Mazda for the accessibility of the front bar, unfortunately! Thanks for the feedback on the bolt holes, we'll look into that.
Rating
Review by Jeremy / (Posted on 11/18/2018)
Excellent set of sway bars!
Fantastic set of sway bars, very solid materials compared to the rear stock swaybar which I can flex with my hands. Took myself and a friend a few hours to install both, including with new bar end links. The rear took about 30 minutes total and the front took quite a while longer. As other's have said, the fan shroud is a bit of a pain as each connector unclips differently, just take your time and be patient and it'll come undone. Also removed the intake, coolant reservoir, battery, and wheels to make things easier. Definitely would recommend doing on a shop lift if you have access to one.

As for handling, I chose the neutral setting for front and back, the car immediately feels a lot more stable in corners and feels a bit smoother on the freeway in terms of not feeling as many of the small bumps. Definitely would recommend this kit!
Rating
Review by Steve R / (Posted on 10/15/2018)
Don't wait
This is the car I thought I had bought from the Factory. The sway bars have really made the car perform like I was expecting from Mazda. My only regret is that I waited so long to make the change.
Rating
Review by TB / (Posted on 7/22/2018)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Flyin' Miata sway bar set (ND chassis)

How do you rate this product? *

 
1 1 star
2 2 star
3 3 star
4 4 star
5 5 star
Rating